Tenant Patching

Hi CUBA team,

This is my first time using CUBA and there are some confirmation I need before I start developing for my first CUBA project requested by me client. I have searched in google and forum and read but still a bit confused on some topics.

1. Multiple Databases (Tenant Database)
    From other forum posts, I understand that CUBA is going to add features on Multiple Databases. I have some questions.
    a. I will write a HR solution for my client. The client will offers HR solution to their existing customers. Their requirements are 1 webapp for multiple databases. The reason is said there are 100 customers with 100 databases (all entities are same across tenants) and there are 100 webapp.war then it will be very tedious to patch after fixing bugs or adding more features into the project. Will the promised Multiple Databases in another post’s summary caters my client’s requirement? Previously, we have a project to customize Liferay for Logistics modules and our client gone into Liferay Tenant Sharding with 400 databases. When the main Liferay Server boot up, it takes more than 2 hours. Although Liferay are using Hibernate but I think there must be some testing on this. May be implement it to connect only main DB or chosen DB, and connect only when the DB connection is requested from within eclipselink.

2. Multiple Databases (Non-Tenant / Non-CUBA / Integration)
    a. My client’s customers has Finger print devices and some databases in their server. My plan is to generate Entities from their Db and works inside CUBA. They have MsSQL, MySQL and some even .mdb (not sure CUBA can works on .mdb or not haha :smiley: ). I mean, if we have 3 Db in the project, 1 is type Pg, 1 is type My and 1 is type Ms. Will it be possible?