Scheduling email depending on date attribute

Hello, I am a student working on a project in Cuba platform and was wondering how to schedule an email (reminder) depending on a training(entity) start-date attribute. So an employee in our system is reminded by mail a few days before his training starts.

I have the email part down and am able to send emails targeted to the manager of a certain training when an employee presses a request button to join the training.

Thanks in advance!

Hi.
Create a Managed Bean and add a method with the @Authenticated and @Transactional annotations to it. In this method create a query to select employees from the database with a necessary date and send emails to them using the EmailerAPI bean: Sending Methods - CUBA Platform. Developer’s Manual

Create a scheduled task from the Scheduled Tasks browser (Administration → Scheduled Tasks).
Fill in the following fields:

• Bean name. Set the name of the Managed Bean that you have created previously.
  • Method name. Set the name of the method that you have created previously.
  • Period, sec. Set the task execution interval in seconds.

Save the scheduled task and click the Activate button.

Note that cuba.schedulingActive application property should be set to true to enable tasks processing.

Remember, that this task sends emails every time it is run and you should prevent repeated email sending.

If you still have any questions, feel free to ask them here.

Regards,
Nataly.

Hi Natalia thanks for the reply!

I think I understand what you are telling me although I am still a little puzzeled as to where and how I make this managed bean do I make my current Training entity a managed bean as described on the explanation page by adding a particular import and some other tags? Or is it a new entity that I first need to add to the data model making this a managed bean? This is not really explained in the Making a managed bean dev manual page.

Kind Regards,
Wissam

Hi!