Need help resolving JPQL syntax error

I am fairly new to JPQL and coming from SQL there are some things I still need to get familiar with, so the problem might be caused by that fact.

Working with the CUBA-Framework, I am trying to create a new entity with a JPQL like a form of projection in SQL and I already have succeeded in doing so but now with another case, I got a syntax error. So here is my JPQL:

SELECT NEW
  com.example.vet.entity.vet_AnimalInformation(a.cage,0,0,'test',0)
  FROM vet_Animals a

This gets transformed internally into what you can see in the exception below and gives me an error:

An exception occurred while creating a query in EntityManager:
    Exception Description: Syntax error parsing 
    [SELECT NEWcom.example.vet.entity.vet_AnimalInformation(tempEntityAlias,0,0,'test',0) FROM vet_Cage tempEntityAlias, vet_Animals a where tempEntityAlias.id = a.cage.id].
    [71, 72] The SELECT clause has 'NEWcom.example.vet.entity.vet_AnimalInformation' and '(tempEntityAlias, 0, 0, 'test', 0)' that are not separated by a comma.

Whyever this restructuring occurs, I can live with that, although in comparison to SQL I feel a lack of influence on the statement here :slight_smile: somehow the constructor is not recognized as such.
What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks in advance!

So I tried to rewrite my original SELECT statement in the exact way that was shown in the previous error message. Funny enough, now I get another error, that the constructor with those types of parameters could not be found. BUT: the constructor is recognized.
I assumend maybe there could be a bug when my original SELECT statement got restructured that the blank between NEW and the constructor gets lost? But then again, when I left that blank out in my statement, I got an error message in the log but not the exception mentioned in the post above.

Hi Oliver,

You should be able to execute JPQL with new through the EntityManager in the core module.