Making a component not visible programmatically

I want to turn a component invisible programmatically (based on some conditions. Is it possible?

Something like in controller:

if(...){
       fieldGroupEdit.getField("productionRework").setVisible(false);
}

Hi,
You can use setVisible method of FieldGroup:

fieldGroupEdit.setVisible("productionRework", false);

Thank you, it worked.

The same question regarding Table. How can I hide a column of a table programmatically.

I’m new to CUBA therefore a basic question:

Where do I get the -fieldGroupEdit- Object in my Editor (class XXXEdit extends AbstractEditor)

Thanks!

Hi Alex
If you have generated the Editor screen, you should have the fieldGroup that will hold different component. To order to manipulate in controller, you have to inject the fieldGroup component as follows:

@Inject
private FieldGroup fieldGroup;

ok, I got it now simply by using getComponent(“fieldGroup”). Or i could Inject it (thanks mortoza). But FieldGroup.setVisible(String, boolean) is now deprecated.

Also I’m rather interested in a way to set any component visible by using it’t setVisible(boolean) method but this doesn’t work as the initial queation describes.

Is there a method “refreshView()” or something i need to run after changing it?

Hi Alex
Try this:

@Named("fieldGroup.name")
private TextField nameField;

@Override
protected void postInit() {
    nameField.setVisible(false);
}

Thanks mortoza,

I’m sorry, Component.setVisible(boolean) wasn’t the problem. It didn’t work because i was trying this for testing purposes in an ItemPropertyChangeListener :

testLabel.setVisible(!testLabel.isVisible()); (any idea why this doesn’t work?)

However, it works if i use a constant argument value.

another Question:
Is there a way to switch between views and editors programmatically?