How to start a clustered application?

Hello,

I am new to CUBA (from my previous post) and I would like to start right on developing a clustered application. As I can see when creating a bare project with Studio, I get all the application modules - global, core, web, etc. I have read the “scaling” section of the docs but it is unclear to me how to start such a project.

My questions are:

1. How to I separate the web from the middleware in different servers? Do I need to create two projects? Which components/files go with which tier? (global, core, entities, services, etc.)
  2. If I decide to add more servers in the future, what properties/settings do I need to change?
  3. Can I create many middleware projects running on different ports which I can then call from the web tier?

Thanks in advance!

First of all, you should decide why you need a cluster. CUBA cluster is designed for high availablity and load balancing, not for microservice-like dividing functional modules. It means that from functionality perspective your clusteredc application is a monolith, and is developed in a single project.

1. How to I separate the web from the middleware in different servers? Do I need to create two projects? Which components/files go with which tier? (global, core, entities, services, etc.)

Just build separate WAR files for middleware and web client using the buildWar task, for example:

task buildWar(type: CubaWarBuilding) {
    appHome = '${app.home}'
    appProperties = ['cuba.automaticDatabaseUpdate': 'true']
    singleWar = false // note this parameter
}

Then deploy these WARs to different servers.

1. If I decide to add more servers in the future, what properties/settings do I need to change?

If you add servers of the web tier, you don’t have to configure any CUBA-specific parameters, just your load balancer. Web servers don’t communicate with each other and don’t share any data, they just request the middleware.