How to build a Hierarchical datasource to use the Tree table object ?

Hello,
I am testing the Cuba Platform and so far, it is just “exceptional” as I am a low level programmer.
I am trying to build a simple hierarchy (table name - employee) including a child and its parent. So I created 2 columns, and for the parent field, I did an association referencing the employe table.
But then, when I create the edit screen, only the child field is available. If I create a Tree table in the browse screen, I get a java exception.
Could you help to find the good way to do it ?
Many thanks,
FBS

2 Likes

Hi,

can you share the entities java class definitions and the screen’s xml in order to better understand your problem?

That would be great.

Bye
Mario

Hello, Frédéric.

I advise that you use Cuba Studio. You can download it here.

Let’s create new project and add new entity:

1. Open DATA MODEL tab

2. Click New and choose Entity

3. Add new fields to the entity:

After that you have to create new view for the Employee entity:

1. Right click on the Employee entity

2. Choose Create view

3. Tick firstName, lastName, chief, chief > firstName, chief > lastName

4. Click OK

Now we can create generic screens:

1. Right click on employee-view and choose Create Generic UI screen

2. Choose Entity browser and click Create

3. Choose Entity editor and click Create

Let’s tune our browse screen:

1. Open GENERIC UI tab and double click on employee-browse.xml

2. Open DATASOURCES tab and choose hierarchicalDatasource instead of groupDatasource

3. Open LAYOUT tab, right click on table and choose Convert to TreeTable

4. Click OK

Now you can run you app pressing CTRL+SHIFT+F9 and check how everything works.

employee

employee-view

employee-screens

employee-datasource

employee-result

1 Like

Dear all,

I finally succeeded. My view was incorrect. MANY MANY Thanks for such a quick answer. I am discovering cuba and I am loving it more and more.